Home » news » Press Release

Press Release

Reps. Conaway and Green reintroduce Local Radio Freedom Act

Joined by 71 colleagues in supporting community radio

f t # e
Washington, February 15, 2013 | comments

U.S. Representatives K. Michael Conaway (R-Texas) and Gene Green (D-Texas) today reintroduced the bipartisan Local Radio Freedom Act (H. Con. Res. 16), which would oppose any new fees, taxes or royalties for music played on local radio stations. The resolution has 71 additional original cosponsors.

The recording industry has lobbied for a new “performance tax,” which would require local radio stations to pay a fee for each song they play on air. Local radio already provides free advertising and promotion for the recording industry, and these fees could put the future of these stations in jeopardy. Local radio provides valuable community services – emergency alerts, local news and weather, community programming and AMBER alerts – and our towns can’t afford to lose these stations.

“Communities rely on their local radio stations for news, weather alerts and other emergency broadcasts, and the suggested performance tax could jeopardize the future of many of these struggling stations. I’m pleased so many of my House colleagues have joined with me in supporting local radio stations and listeners while pushing back against punitive fees,” Rep. Conaway said.

“I’m glad to join Mr. Conaway and many of our colleagues again in introducing this important resolution to preserve free over-the-air broadcast.  Radio provides a great service to people, no matter their income, age, or education, and it’s an important part of maintaining an informed and engaged society.  We can’t introduce a new system of fees that will cut people’s access to public safety information, news, weather, or entertainment,” Rep. Green said.

This resolution is identical to H. Con. Res. 21, which Reps. Conaway and Green introduced in the 112th Congress.

The original cosponsors are: Reps. Rodney Alexander (R-La.), Jo Bonner (R-Ala), Charles Boustany (R-La.), G.K. Butterfield (D-N.C.), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Michael Capuano (D-Ma.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Mike Coffman (R-Colo.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), Joe Courtney (D-Conn.), Ander Crenshaw (R-Fla.), Charlie Dent (R-Pa.), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.), John Dingell (D-Mich.), Renee Ellmers (R-N.C.), Mike Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), John Fleming (R-La.), Bill Flores (R-Texas), Phil Gingrey (R-Ga.), Kay Granger (R-Texas),

Gregg Harper (R-Miss.), Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.), Doc Hastings (R-Wash.), Ruben Hinojosa (D-Texas), Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.), Randy Hultgren (R-Ill.), David Joyce (R-Ohio), Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.), John Kline (R-Minn.), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), Leonard Lance (R-N.J.), Dave Loebsack (D-Iowa), Billy Long (R-Mo.), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Mo.), Carolyn McCarthy (D-N.Y.), Patrick McHenry (R-N.C.), Gregory Meeks (D-N.Y.), Mike Michaud (D-Maine), Jeff Miller (R-Fla.),

Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas), Alan Nunnelee (R-Miss.), Pete Olson (R-Texas), Steve Pearce (R-N.M.), Tom Petri (R-Wisc.), Ted Poe (R-Texas), Mike Pompeo (R-Kan.), Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.), Harold Rogers (R-Ky.), Mike Rogers (R-Ala.), Mike Rogers (R-Mich.), Ed Royce (R-Calif.), Jon Runyan (R-N.J.), Tim Ryan (D-Ohio),

John Sarbanes (D-Md.), David Schweikert (R-Ariz.), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), John Shimkus (R-Ill.), Mike Simpson (R-Idaho), Steve Stivers (R-Ohio), Lee Terry (R-Neb.), Glenn Thompson (R-Pa.), Patrick Tiberi (R-Ohio), Michael Turner (R-Ohio), Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.), Tim Walberg (R-Mich.), Greg Walden (R-Ore.), Lynn Westmoreland (R-Ga.), Rob Wittman (R-Va.), Joe Wilson (R-S.C.) and Steve Womack (R-Ark.).

f t # e
Tags: Veterans

Office Locations

Llano Office
San Angelo Office
Odessa Office
Midland Office
Brownwood Office
Granbury Office
DC Office