Press Release

Reps. Conaway and Green Reintroduce Local Radio Freedom Act

f t # e
Washington, January 24, 2017 | comments

Washington – Tuesday, Congressman Mike Conaway (R-TX) and Congressman Gene Green (D-TX) reintroduced the bipartisan Local Radio Freedom Act, which opposes and new taxes or fees for music played on local radio stations. The resolution has 113 additional original cosponsors.

“Communities rely on local radio stations for news, weather updates, and other emergency alerts. A proposed ‘performance tax’ on local radio stations has the potential to put the future of these stations in jeopardy,” said Congressman Mike Conaway. “It is great to see so many of my House colleagues joining Rep. Green and I in support of our local radio stations and their listeners.”

“I am proud to join Rep. Conaway and our colleagues in protecting free over-the-air broadcasting,” said Rep. Gene Green. “The Local Radio Freedom Act ensures that people’s access to public safety information, news, weather, or other entertainment is kept whole and that a new system of fees is not imposed on local radio stations.”


This resolution is nearly identical to H. Con. Res. 17, which Reps. Conaway and Green introduced in the 114th Congress.


The original cosponsors are: Reps. Abraham, Allen, Amodei, Babin, Banks, Barr, Beutler, Bilirakis, Sanford Bishop, Blum, Bordallo, Bost, Bridenstine, Bucshon, Butterfield, Calvert, Carson, Castor, Chabot, Cole, Chris Collins, Comer, Cook, Cramer, Crawford, Davis, DeFazio, Delaney, Dingell, John Duncan, Ellison, Emmer, Farenthold, Flores, Foxx, Gallagher, Gibbs, Al Green, Grothman, Guthrie, Frelinghuysen, Hartzler, French Hill, Hudson, Hultgren, Evan Jenkins, Lynn Jenkins, Bill Johnson, Jordan, Joyce, Kaptur, Keating, Kilmer, Kinzinger, Kuster, LaHood, LaMalfa, Lance, Latta, LoBiondo, Loebsack, Lucas, Luetkemeyer, Lujan Grisham, Lynch, Long, Massie, McKinley, Messer, Mooney, Mullin, Noem, O’Rourke, Palazzo, Pallone, Pascrell, Pearce, Pittenger, Poe, Radewagen, Hal Rogers, Mike Rogers, Rokita, Rouzer, Russell, Tim Ryan, Schrader, Schweikert, David Scott, Sewell, Shimkus, Adrian Smith, Chris Smith, Stefanik, Stivers, Stewart, Glenn Thompson, Tiberi, Turner, Upton, Valadao, Veasey, Wagner, Walden, Walorski, Walz, Weber, Westerman, Wilson (FL), Wilson (SC), Womack, Yoder, and Don Young.



f t # e